Wednesday 26 June 2013

New Icelandic and Lithuanian Judges Elected

Yesterday, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) elected to new judges to the European Court of Human Rights. In respect of Lithuania, Egidius Kuris was elected by a large majority. Mr Kuris is currently professor of public law at Vilnius University. Previously, he also advised the government and was the president of the Constitutional Court of Lithuania. He was one of the co-fouddners of the Lithuanian Human Rights Centre. For his full CV, see here. In respect of Iceland, Róbert Ragnar Spanó (of both Icalandic and Italian nationality) was elected, also by a large majority. He is the current parliamentary ombudsman of Iceland and has previously worked, amongst many other functions, as as hoc judge in the EFTA Court and as professor of law. His CV can be found here. Both judges have been elected for a nine-year term, starting on 1 November of this year. Congratulations to both!